Love where you’re at pt. 2 ✨

Hi friends ✨

Busy busy busy. My first full month in Bangkok was busy! Language school AND ministry. Language school took up a lot of my time during the week, then church ministry takes up my weekends. I have completed my first month of language school!!! It’s a hard language to learn but SO worth it because I can say more than “sawatdii kha” or “khoop khun kha” (“hi” and “thank you”). I had a phenomenal teacher, she is the absolute best! I had an entertaining class to learn with and made friends along the way. These aspects made learning Thai bearable. I can say that learning Thai was the most work my brain has done so far in this life. 😉

Ministry: I am blessed to work with the people I do. Half of the pastoral team are women, this has been awesome and inspiring all the same time. They are so full of life. I have the opportunity to walk along side some of the raddest students. Some of you have seen pictures of me with a few girls (Chol, Toon, Nun and Mon). 3 of them are university students in our youth/ young adults group, and the other one has graduated already. They help out with youth but also participate. These girls are all stars 🎉 they have taken the foreigner under their wing and made it home for me. But for real, they have made me feel at home. The relationship I have with them is an adventure, a wild one at that. It’s amazing that even with a little language barrier, I’m able to invest into their lives and vice versa. Ugh, just a huge shoutout to them. Not only are they students, but they are definitely like sisters. LOVE YOU GIRLS. Another part of ministry is outside of the church walls, I join English Corner with a couple of Imagine Thailand workers who run it. It’s at this super cute hipster coffee house. Hannah and Zach plan little group games and then usually talk about something, a topic planned or unplanned. This helps improve our university students English (not that they aren’t already fab at it) but it’s a way of teaching them new words, and generally improving their English. This has been fun to be apart of, our students are SO fun. As I’m done language school (for now ;)), my schedule will pile up with church ministry related things that I wasn’t able to do when I was at school. I will still be doing English Corner, just down to once a week rather than twice a week.

Little (not so little) life update:

Ha ha ha ha.. oh my has my life been taken on a wild ride lately🎉 things have been revealed to me that are life changing and going to be life changing. Unfortunately, those things can’t be revealed to the public just yet (sorry🙊). I am in a season of waiting. Do I love where I’m currently at in this season? 50/50. Part of me does, part of me is kinda like this process could go faster but that’s just me. The learning curves of the season I’m in are teaching me how to love where I’m at. Learning curves such as: my timing and God’s timing are 100% different, my plans and His plans are 100% different and trusting in that and in HIM, He comes through for us on HIS time, He comes unexpectedly but wonderfully all at the same time and I’m learning a wack ton about patience. 😉

Last but not least – He taught my feet to dance upon disappointment. Oh my, has that ever been hard to do and to humble yourself because you had it wrong when you thought you had it right. This was very uncomfortable for me to do. I feel like ever since I got to Thailand, everything about my life has been out of my comfort zone. Goooo figure considering moving out of Canada was already stepping out of my comfort zone.

Ugh, I’m blown away at how my first month has gone! Like I said my schedule is going to pile up, so you’ll see more and hear more about ministry related things next month going forward.

This is living now. 🙌🏽

much love!

abbs ✌🏼

2 Replies to “Love where you’re at pt. 2 ✨”

  1. “Do you not know? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”
    Isaiah 40:28-31

    I know this verse has become cliche but isn’t it beautiful when you stop and think of what it means? You are doings such a beautiful thing. You are strong and brave for stepping out to do God’s work, and though you may grow weary, God’s strength is great. You will be so greatly blessed for what you are doing and I pray that you would not only be blessed with jewels in your crown but also here on Earth. That God would pave the way, protecting you and guiding you through your journey’s in Thailand. He is so proud of you and has so much planned for your life. Soar on wings like eagles! Hope in God who is your strength! 👑

    Like

Leave a comment